Challenge 11 Gallery: Surrender

Inspiration can be fickle. There are days when everything I see inspires me to write or helps form a photo in my head. I keep a moleskin notebook in my back pocket where I jot down ideas and quotes. Some days I go through several pages, other days I never open it.

I’ve found that that the days when my notebook is busiest are the worst days. By that I mean bad days, when things aren’t going well here and I’m stressed or upset or angry. I tend to draw more inspiration from strife than from peace. These days my notebooks are filling up.

This article at BBC NEWS caught my eye recently. An excerpt:

“Creativity is often part of a mental illness, with writers particularly susceptible, according to a study of more than a million people.
Writers had a higher risk of anxiety and bipolar disorders, schizophrenia, unipolar depression, and substance abuse, the Swedish researchers at the Karolinska Institute found.
They were almost twice as likely as the general population to kill themselves.
The dancers and photographers were also more likely to have bipolar disorder.”

In my own experience, I’ve found this to be accurate. My mom is a good example- she’s an incredible artist, but she’s crazy as a bag of hammers. There are people who romanticize the crazy artist stereotype. I’m not one of them. I know the struggle and hardship of mental illness, and any creative by-product is simply that, a bonus. Sane people create wonderful art as well, I’m certain.

Of course, creative genius can be found without mental illness, although one often looks so much like the other. Most of my favorite writers were downright insane; does their art in some way excuse their issues? Can we overlook genuine mental illness if the work it produces impresses us? I think we often do.

This ramble about insanity and art is sponsored by the pelican skull drying on my kitchen table. My mom’s plans for it are either crazy or genius- time will tell.

Before we get to our 11th challenge gallery, the prompt for next week is “Genius.” Make of it what you will.

 

Challenge 11 Gallery: Surrender

Single Frame Stories week11

“Strip! Your chainmail gets caught in my teeth.”
“My buckles stuck! can u help?” I said. “Sure” smirked Dragon, as he impaled his head on my pike
by Shockwave Plasma

Giving up the Ghosts

“Giving up the Ghosts” by Michelle Hyacinth

Single frame stories, week 11: Surrender

“Surrendering is all that is left at the end of the road.” by Cherry 108

Armed for Peace

“Armed for Peace. I surrender.” by Carrie Lexington

Taking no prisoners

“Taking no prisoners” by Tura Brezoianu

His sweet surrender ♥

“His sweet surrender ♥” by koey69

Surrender the donut!

“Surrender the donut!
Wave a white flag, a white towel, whatever.
I’ll get back on track on Monday, I swear…..”
by Kristine Kristan

SingleFrameStories - Surrender

“it’s the same every morning … do I surrender to the alarm clock or to the sandman?” by Mayala Loon
Sweet Surrender
by Deoridhe Quandry

Surrender to the Inevitability of Ignorance
What I Don’t Know I Know is greater than What I Know I Know is greater than What I Know I Don’t Know is greater than What I Don’t Know I Don’t Know. Ignorance is only bliss before you fall off the cliff edge.
by Deoridhe Quandry


by Stone Semyorka

Peaceful Surrender

“Peaceful Surrender” by Whiskey Monday

Surrender Duo

by Botgirl Questi

This entry was posted by Botgirl Questi.

4 thoughts on “Challenge 11 Gallery: Surrender

  1. Arg! I got my Ignorance is Bliss math wrong!!! It should be: What I Don’t Know I Know is less than What I Know I Know is less than What I Know I Don’t Know is less than What I Don’t Know I Don’t Know. Ignorance is only bliss before you fall off the cliff edge.

    Stupid math!

  2. Pingback: I’d like to reach that artistic level that’s after genius but before suicide. « Whiskey Shots

Leave a Reply

