Challenge Gallery 50: I Believe

We apologize for being a bit late this week. Whiskey and I have both been wrestling with the deep uncertainty of life. A road trip with a new car ends up in a car-totaling accident with injury. The end of six months of treatment for a health issue lingers with an unanticipated month of very slow recovery. Events like these remind us of the profound unpredictable nature of life and death, health and illness, prosperity and poverty, sorrow and joy.

Truth is, as Buddha’s Five Remembrances describe:

We are of the nature to grow old. There is no way to escape growing old.

We are of the nature to have ill health. There is no way to escape ill health.

We are of the nature to die. There is no way to escape death.

All that is dear to us and everyone we love are of the nature to change. There is no way to escape being separated from them.

Our actions are our only true belongings. We cannot escape the consequences of our actions. Our actions are the ground upon which we stand.

Before we get to our challenge gallery, the prompt for the next two weeks is, “Life and Death.” Make of it what you will.

Challenge Gallery 50: I Believe

20130906_I_Believe_640x488

by Auryn Beorn

Single Frame Story: I Believe

“I Believe” by Caitlin Tobias

I believe evil is present in our world...

“I believe evil is present in our world…” by Sinjin Cooperstone

and I believe hope is our greatest gift.

“and I believe hope is our greatest gift.” by Sinjin Cooperstone

For Naught

“For Naught” by Savoree LeDesir

Believe In Who You Are...

“Believe In Who You Are…” by Maci Restless

Love is not a four letter word

“Love is not a four letter word. Love is all of the letters of the alphabet, the words of every language, every story written across all time.” by Peep Sideshow Darkward

balance

“I believe in Balance. Usually balance is not so hard. But sometimes it truly feels like dancing on a razor’s edge. And then maintaining balance becomes hard work. It means asking yourself difficult questions and often leads to making choices of what to keep and what to cut loose in order to restore or to maintain balance.” by Rwahs

Yes, I do !

“Yes, I do !” by Awesome fallen

The Abduction

“The Abduction” by Skye D.

Dreams...... Soul whispers, Heart desires ......

“Dreams…… Soul whispers, Heart desires ……” by Awesome fallen

I believe

by Michelle Hyacinth

I Believe

by Billy, aka Dondo Dollinger

I can't believe in all the supernatural stuff. Just everything else.

“I can’t believe in all the supernatural stuff. Just everything else.” by Tura Brezoianu

Do I believe in Fairy Tales?

“Do I believe in Fairy Tales?” by Awesome fallen

What I Believe

by Botgirl Questi

Executing an Idea

“Executing an Idea: We tend to accept every belief that pops into our head as the absolute truth. A visual pun on a healthy life practice.” by Botgirl Questi

This entry was posted by Botgirl Questi.

One thought on “Challenge Gallery 50: I Believe

Leave a comment