Challenge Gallery 37: Balance

I’m posting today’s challenge from a hospital waiting room. This isn’t my personal blog so I try to keep it general here, but it’s hard to get my mind outside this room today. There are so many stories here. Families waiting for word, people (like me) taking a break from a bedside vigil, and visitors waiting their turn. A hospital can be a great equalizer- we’re all here from different places and lifestyles, our loved ones here for different illnesses, but we all share the same fears and hopes and thousand-yard-stares.

I love that same thing about our Single Frame Stories. It’s a kind of an equalizer. We come from different worlds, different mediums and completely different viewpoints, but we come together and work here together. I think what we create here each week is cohesive in theme, but unique as well. We tell one big story made up of many individual ones.

But I’ve had half a dozen waiting room donuts and it may just be the sugar high talking.

Either way, I find myself surrounded by stories everywhere I go. I wish I could tell them all.

Before we get to today’s challenge gallery, the prompt for next week is, “Self.” Make of it what you will.

Challenge Gallery 37: Balance

Balance

“Balancing on the edge of darkness”

by Meandroid

The Train Couldn't Tell Me Where I Was...

“The Train Couldn’t Tell Me Where I Was…
So I’ll follow these tracks, and see where they take me.”

by Skye Donardson

Acrobat cat - Balance

“Acrobat cat – Balance. They make it look so easy … ”

by Crap Mariner

Out of Balance Tuesday Child

“Out of Balance Tuesday Child”

by Jewel~Appletor

Balance is the enemy of art

“‘Balance is the enemy of art’ – Richard Eyre”

by Sinjin Cooperstone

Single Frame stories 'Balance'

“I’ll continue to try and balance like a circus act. And I will just fight to always tell the truth. Even if it’s difficult. – Katy Perry

It’s all in how you arrange the thing… the careful balance of the design is the motion. – Andrew Wyeth

I find it satisfying and intellectually stimulating to work with the intensity, brevity, balance and word play of the short story. – Annie Proulx”

by Pixi Late

Out of Balance
“Out of Balance”
by Whiskey Monday

Balance

“I was working on an image for this week’s Single Frame Story, when I realized the balance I was experiencing in the moment was between the work in progress and my view out the window. So I took this shot.”

by Botgirl Questi

The Art of Balance

“The art of balance is mostly about managing weight”

by Botgirl Questi

This entry was posted by Whiskey Day.

Leave a Reply

