Challenge 17 Gallery: Easy

I hoard quotes. I have dozens of notebooks stashed around the house, and I write down things that I hear, see and read. It doesn’t matter if it’s silly, poignant or absurd- these quotes serve as inspiration for me. These little gems can become quite fun when taken out of context, or sometimes become melancholy on a page when they stir a memory.

I found this quote in one of my notebooks recently, and it’s been in the back of my mind since:

“A picture is a secret about a secret, the more it tells you the less you know.”
Diane Arbus

I’ve linked Arbus’s site for you there, in case you don’t know her work. She’s one of my favorite photographers (another is Alfred Stieglitz, if you’re looking for more to explore).

But back to that quote. Much like Arbus’s photography, that quote is weird. Which is likely why I love it so much. A cardinal rule in writing is to “show me, don’t tell me.” Let me find my way through your work, don’t pull me. I want to know your story, but part of the joy of art is watching the story unfold and if you unfold it for me then I’ve nothing invested in your work. It’s hard to connect if I don’t have some sort of emotional investment in a work.

Maybe that’s why I love Arbus’s photographs so much. There is so much story in her one shot, but it’s not spelled out in crayon. She trusts her viewers to do the work of unfolding the story. I appreciate that opportunity to explore without being “told.”

As a writer, it’s difficult to resist the urge to just tell the story. I struggle with the fear of being misunderstood. But working on Single Frame Stories, both those posted here and those on my own blog, helps me to work through some of that and better trust my reader. Whatever emotion or understanding you arrive at after reading my story or viewing my work- it’s yours. It’s not my place to tell you.

Before we get to our challenge gallery, the prompt for next week is “secret.” Make of it what you will.

 

Challenge 17 Gallery: Easy

Sunday Morning
by Chestnut Rau

Single Frame Stories, week 17: Easy

“It’s easy to miss something beautiful when you are not looking in the here and now…..” by Cherry 108

Easy Peasy

“Easy Peasy. The easiest thing for me is to make an outfit and take a picture of half of it.” by Ms. Robbiani

butter side down

butter side down. “Just when you thought it would be easy to electrocute yourself in the tub with the toaster, the cord comes unplugged.” by Crap Mariner

Single Frame Stories week 17

“This week the prompt is “Easy”, but coincidently…

I get a letter:-

Dear Shockwave,
Please take this ring to Mordor, as I’ve twisted my ankle.
It should be easy.
PS It’s perfectly safe
PPS Take a sword.

If you don’t hear from me…..”
by Shockwave Plasma

Single Frame Story: Easy
by Deoridhe Quandry

Single Frame Stories - Easy
The way might be not easy , but the goal is … DIY-Learning a new language … as fast as possible … 😉
by Mayala Loon

Easy_red_light_district_640x504
“Merriam-Webster: Easy . . . readily available; sexually promiscuous”
Name: Stone Semyorka

Dragon_004
by Randall Ahren

easy-(1)
I know now what I always suspected – they are wrong.
by Kandinsky Beaumont

it is easy to forget all up on the air
by Minhilda

It's easy to be grateful
by Michelle Hyacinth

Easy.
by Aequitas Aequitas

easy-mom-sketch-book
My mother makes it look easy.
by Whiskey Monday

Difficulty Level: Easy

“Difficulty Level: Easy” by Whiskey Monday

Sleep Didn't Come Easily

“Sleep Didn’t Come Easily” by Botgirl Questi

This entry was posted by Whiskey Day.

2 thoughts on “Challenge 17 Gallery: Easy

  1. Pingback: The Tower by Rebeca Bashly | RENOOBED

Leave a Reply

